Skill Transfer

Three skills I have learned and feel are the most important that I will use in future classes, That takes some though so bear with me:

APA

APA

1) APA- American Psychology Association. Unlike a traditional English class we had to use the formatting we would need for future writings for our majors. It was actually beneficial because English classes use MLA (Modern Language Association) formatting, which is no help to me as I am striving to be a nurse. Any research papers I do in graduate school will follow APA format. I am already benefiting from this because I am taking Criminology now and have a research paper to do. So Instead of wasting all this extra time figuring out the proper way to do in-text citations and whether to call it a reference list, works citied, or just references and how to actually cite my sources, I will already know exactly what to do.

 

Microphone

Microphone

2) Speaking up- I usually never speak in class for so many reasons. I get really nervous, shaky, and my heart rate usually increase. The center of attention, I am not. In this class participation is part of our grade and yeah I have had other classes where participation has been part of our final grade but it was different in this class. It was more of an open environment, say what you want, call your professor by the first name (which still feels weird to do). Even if appearances are deceiving, it was like a judgment free zone, no one was going to say blatantly that I was wrong, or that my analysis was stupid. I just don’t like being wrong and making a fool of myself in front of 20 something people.

 

Post It

Post It

3) Time Management- I am a huge procrastinator and I even listed as one of my goals at the beginning of the semester was to better manager my time. I started out relatively strong but like the Rollercoaster Sheikra, it’s been bumpy ride. But now that I have a job (Premiere Cinema), I now have a reacting catalyst to speed up my time management problem solving. There are only 24 hours in the day and quite frankly I think the idea of having longer days is ghastly. So that means it is time to whip myself into shape literally and figuratively.

 

References

So much Moore media. (2013). APA logo. [Digital Image]. Retrieved November 18, 2013 from http://www.somuchmoore.com/2013/Artists/APA.html

Wright, M. (2012). Microphone. [Digital Images]. Retrieved November 18, 2013 from http://blog.songcastmusic.com/2012/04/11/which-microphone-is-right-for-your-recording-process/

Pamela. (2013). Post it. [Photograph]. Retrieved November 18, 2013 from http://www.cogniview.com/blog/time-managementtransform-excel-to-excellent/

Leave a Reply

