Post 1: The Kitchen

cooking As Keith Floyd once said, “Cooking is an art and patience a virtue… Careful shopping, fresh ingredients and an unhurried approach are nearly all you need. There is one more thing, love. Love for food and love for those you invite to your table. With a combination of these things you can be an artist – not perhaps in the representational style of a Dutch master, but rather more like Gauguin, the naïve, or Van Gogh, the impressionist. Plates or pictures of sunshine taste of happiness and love.”

I choose food/cooking as the overall theme for my blog. I choose cooking as my blog topic because I love to cook. I have been cooking for years and as a little girl I loved to stand by the stove with my mom excitied, willing and ready to help her, even if she didn’t need help.

Like Floyd said cooking is an art. I love to experiment with spices and the combination of tastes that can be created is astounishing. Cooking is also like an outlet for what you are feeling wether it be stress or anger or something else. And if you can channel what you are feeling into your cooking, you might create something to wake up your tastebuds from the everyday cheeseburger.

I want to show people new dishes that maybe they didn’t know. New ways to prepare their favorite or even traditional meals. I want to inspire people to want to cook, to want to experiment with new flavors. I hope my blog will make people enjoy cooking like I do.

I will be using the magazines Everyday Food and Food Network Magazine, along with the website http://www.bonappetit.com/ as a guide for ideas of how to style my blog and what food related topics I can explore.

Work Cited

Image by Michelle from http://italianmamachef.com/2011/06/01/adventures-of-the-cooking-teacher-continued/

2 thoughts on “Post 1: The Kitchen

  1. Thats a cute picture! I love food! My favorites are pasta and potatoes 🙂 mainly starch in general. One night these two people Kassie and Devin cooked for about 7 people (including themselves) they made chicken, angel hair, and shrimp in the Austin kitchen! It was awesome; well the pasta was! I was worried that the chicken was not cooked all the way so I did not eat very much of it, and I don’t like shrimp well any sea food really! If you were to want someone to cook for hit me up ha :D!

Leave a Reply

